Visit for the latest information on the novel coronavirus in Kentucky.

Boards & Commissions

Helping to ensure the state’s economic development efforts remain cutting edge and business focused, the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development is led by the Kentucky Economic Development Partnership Board, some of the Commonwealth’s most prominent business men and women. In addition, several state boards and commissions also support Kentucky’s efforts to improve the local workforce, encourage business growth and help small businesses succeed.

Partnership Board

Comprised of 13 public-private sector members, the Partnership Board provides strategic governance to the Cabinet. The Partnership Board provides oversight of strategic plans, goals and structure for the Cabinet. Current members include:

Voting Members

Governor Andy Beshear, Chairman
Commonwealth of Kentucky
Elizabeth McCoy
1st District
Fred Sipes
2nd District
William Summers, IV
3rd District
Candace McGraw
4th District
Terry Forcht
5th District
Melinda "Lindy" Karns
6th District
Jean Hale
James Lusk
Secretary Rebecca Goodman
Energy & Environmental Cabinet
Secretary Holly M. Johnson
Finance & Administration Cabinet
Secretary Kerry B. Harvey
Public Protection Cabinet
Secretary Larry L. Roberts
Labor Cabinet

Non-Voting Members

Secretary Mike Berry
Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet
Interim Secretary Larry Hayes
Economic Development Cabinet

The Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority

The Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority (KEDFA) is responsible for awarding most of the financial incentives offered by the Cabinet, including job growth and retention tax credit programs, loans, industrial revenue bonds, economic development bond grants and tax increment financing. Current board members are as follows:

Jean R. Hale, Board Chair
Chairman, President & CEO
Community Trust Bancorp, Inc.
Don Goodin, Vice Chair
Owner and Managing Partner
Lebanon Oak Flooring Co. LLC
Chad Miller, Asst Secretary Treasurer
LockNet, LCC
Tucker Ballinger, Secretary Treasurer
President & CEO
Forcht Bank
Mike Cowles
Chevron Corporation - Retired
Secretary Holly M. Johnson
Finance & Administration Cabinet
Naashom Marx
Senior Manager of Strategic Innovation
Kenton County Airport Board / CVG International Airport

Decisions from recent KEDFA board meetings are available here.

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation (BSSC) oversees the approval of Skills Training Investment Credits and Grant-in-Aid projects to encourage workforce development in Kentucky. Current Members are as follows:

Jai Y. Bokey, BSSC Board Chair
V-Soft Consulting Group Inc.
Rita Combs-Sterrett
RCS Associates
Mrs. Shannon Cales
NuLease Medical Solutions, Healthcare Administration
Marty Hammons
Commissioner of Workforce Investment, Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Jeff Whitehead, BSSC Executive Committee Member-at Large
Executive Director EKCEP, Inc.
Larry Hayes
Cabinet for Economic Development
Zach Weinberg
John Y. Kuzuoka, BSSC Secretary
School Administrator Sheet Metal Workers # 110, Retired
Gary Farmer
Kentucky Cabinet for Health & Family
Melanie Jane Ratliff
Dr. Jay Box
President, KCTCS
Brenda Bankston, BSSC Vice Chair
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Kentuckiana
Dr. Aaron Thompson
Council on Postsecondary Education
Larry Roberts
Kentucky Dept. of Labor
Jaqueline Coleman
Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Nicholas Rapier, BSSC Treasurer,
Salt River Electric
Aimee Wulfeck
Dr. Houston Barber
Superintendent, Frankfort Independent School

The Commission on Small Business Advocacy

The Commission on Small Business Advocacy (CSBA) is an independent state commission that serves as a voice for Kentucky’s small business community during the regulatory and legislative development process.

The Commission relies on the expertise of a thirteen-member board, appointed by the Governor. The board members represent a diverse and unique mix of small business owners and advocates. Each member has a deep appreciation of small business and a commitment to represent the specific needs of the small business community.

Current members are as follows:

Herbert L. McKee, Chair
Self Employed
Lesa Ann Seibert, Vice Chair
Tyrone Tyra
Commerce Lexington
Eric Crump
The Benefits Firm
Sundeep Dronawat
West Wind Power
Vacant Position
Patricia Krausman
Elizabethtown SBDC
Olivia Scholz
St. John & Myers Jewelry
Robert Hudson
Frost Brown Todd, LLC
Darren West
Kristel Smith
Eastern Kentucky University
Sandra Wilson
Hart County Tourist Commission
Joshua Ravenscraft
New Frontier, Inc.
Do Business In KY